Croquet Victoria
Advancing Croquet in Victoria


Earlier news


Decision on Victorian Croquet Centre

At Croquet Victoria's Annual General Meeting on 17 June, the 14 Regional delegates voted unanimously in favour of the following motion for the future of the Victorian Croquet Centre:

In recognition of the need to strengthen the financial structure of the Victorian Croquet Centre, the Croquet Victoria Council should develop, implement and monitor a five-year Business Plan for the Victorian Croquet Centre with the aim of diversifying revenue and increasing usage.

This decision follows widespread interest and thought across Croquet Victoria in discussion of options for the future of the VCC. 

The five year horizon approved in this motion will enable Croquet Victoria to focus on the centre and generate a substantially enhanced and productive program of events, including potentially international events, national events, and local partnerships and bookings. 



The Australian Croquet Open Singles Championship was held from 8- 12th May at VCC.

The croquet on show was awesome with top world ranking players including the 3 Fletcher brothers (with Greg having travelled from Germany to be at VCC )and 2 USA competitors along with Australian top ranking GC players from  all states.

Melbourne had most favorable weather so play was not inhibited in any way.



Current news

News Date: 2024-06-17
Posted by: Kate Patrick
Posted on: 2024-06-18
News Type: General

Croquet Victoria Council 2024/25

Croquet Victoria's Annual General Meeting was held at the Victorian Croquet Centre on Monday 17 June.

Re-elected to leadership positions were Sarina Cevaal-Hewitt (Twin City), Secretary, and Stephen Forster (Belmont), Vice-President.

Kate Patrick (Brunswick) continues as President and Claire Keating (Williamstown) continues as Treasurer for a further year - the election of President and Treasurer is due in 2025. 

The AGM elected Ian Potter (Boort / Regional Director Murray Valley) to the Committee of Management. The subsequent Council meeting appointed Rita Jenkins (Shepparton) to one of the two remaining CoM vacancies.

New Regional Directors joining the Council are Janelle Morris (Geelong, Heather Dawn (Northern District), and Rachel Cousins (Wimmera). 

Welcome to the new members of Council: Rita Jenkins, Janelle Morris, Heather Dawn and Rachel Cousins!

The AGM carried a vote of thanks by acclamation to everyone who has contributed to the work of Croquet Victoria over the year, including sub-committee members, appointed officers, Directors and retiring Directors.


Council subsequently voted to approve the following two year appointments to Appointed Officer positions. Their contact details are available on the Contacts/Officers page of the website. 

State Coordinator Golf Croquet Refereeing: John van der Touw

State Coordinator Coaching: Maurice Cevaal-Hewitt

State Coordinator Ricochet: Maurice Cevaal-Hewitt

State Coordinator Under 21 Croquet: Kate Patrick

State Coordinator Gateball: Philip Brown

Assistant State Coordinator Gateball: David Pryor

State Handicapper Association Croquet: Mike Cohn

State Handicapper Golf Croquet: Maurice Cevaal-Hewitt

State Handicap Recorder: Ian McKee

Website Developer: Gareth Bushill

Tribunal Pool members: Maria Harvey, David Hinds, Helen Worladge


The following positions have not yet been filled. Job descriptions for these positions are on the Resources/Governance page of the website. State Coordinator Handicapping Association Croquet

State Director Association Croquet

State Director Golf Croquet

Mallet News Editor

Merchandise Officer

Complaints Decision Maker

Complaints Officer

Three positions on the Tribunal pool are also available. Directors are not eligible to be appointed to these positions. 

Interested members are welcome to seek appointment using the nomination form on the Resources/Links and Resources page. 










Later news



1932 – 2024

It is with great sadness that we report that Shirley Hallinan has died. She was widely known across Croquet Victoria and will be fondly remembered by the many players she coached, encouraged, refereed, and supported.