Croquet Victoria
Advancing Croquet in Victoria


Earlier news


Wimmera CA golf croquet Pennant final

Our pennant final was played on neutral courts at Kalimna Croquet Club on Monday 25 November between Horsham Banksia and Dimboola Green.  

It was a very entertaining, friendly and suspenseful match.



Exciting GC Metro Shield final

The Melbourne Spring weather was mild for the Shield Handicap Final on Thursday 14 November.

A crowd of supporters had a great day watching from the comfort of the Cairnlea building, the cubbies and outdoor seats.

It was another great Shield final, with the early lead taken by Sandringham winning all 3 games in the first session.


Current news

News Date: 2019-11-24
Posted by: John Grieve
Posted on: 2019-11-27
News Type: Association

Australian AC Doubles and Singles championships

The Australian Association Croquet Open – Doubles and Singles – was held at Cairnlea over nine days in late November.

This is one of the most prestigious events of the year. In recent years the number entering has dropped but the standard is still extremely high.


The singles event was played in great spirit through a range of weather conditions. The eventual winner – Jenny Clarke of NZ – was the dominant player of the championships. She did not lose a game in her progress from the qualifying Burridge Swiss event through to the final. Hence – a champion.

Jenny's opponent in the final was Simon Watkins (Brighton) who played some excellent croquet to reach the last match. The final was a best of 5 event which Jenny won in 3 straight games. The first of these games went right to the bell – a 3-hour game that Jenny won 24-23. Jenny won the next two games 26-4 and 26-9 to claim her third Australian Open title.

Singles finalists ACA AC Singles 2019

Singles finalists Simon Watkins and Jenny Clarke

Results of the singles games and commentary on the final are on Croquetscores.


Jenny and Trevor Bassett took out the doubles winning the final in an enthralling match with Stephen Forster and Kevin Beard. The third game saw Jenny and Trevor win the title for the second year in a row.

AC Doubles finalists 2019

Doubles finalists. From left: Stephen Forster, Kevin Beard, Trevor Bassett, Jenny Clarke

All pairings who missed the finals moved to the plate. There was no clear-cut winning pair so two pairs – David Johnston / Jock Capobianco and Simon Watkins / Michael Wright were declared joint winners.

The results of the doubles games are on Croquetscores.


The support from the players in assisting with re-setting the courts twice during the event was much appreciated. The referees, under the control of Mike Cohn, Brian Foley, Lizzie Bassett and Steven Howes, did a sterling job. Some of the day's play was long and conditions varied from fine and calm to a howling wind and rain! What else would you expect in Melbourne during Spring.

The social side of the event was well supported by the sponsorship of Parbery Consulting. An excellent BBQ was provided on two nights during the event. All players in the event were given a shirt by the sponsors and there was considerable prize money offered across the board. Our very sincere thanks to Nick Chapman for this generous support. Nick was ably represented at the event by Callum Hyland and Kerri-Ann Organ.

Gareth Denyer provided the entertainment with hi Visual Reality camera. A lot of fun for those willing to try!


Mark this event in your diary for next year. Players of all levels competed and took the challenge of playing against some of the best players in Australia (and New Zealand).

The late nights and early starts were well tolerated by all players and my thanks to them and to the referees for their understanding. The weather and some play-offs caused more games to be played than was scheduled. A great event and indeed we have a great Champion. Well played Jenny.

John Grieve


Later news


Horsham Croquet Club to stay in place

Horsham Croquet Club is to stay on at the Botanic Gardens in Horsham, along with the neighbouring tennis club whose courts they use for regional croquet tournaments.

A major win for the croquet community!

Earlier this year a consultants' report proposed relocating both tennis and croquet to a new site where the tennis courts would be surfaced with artificial grass and not available for croquet. This was part of a proposed new masterplan for sports facilities in Horsham.



The GC Selection Committee is pleased to announce the State Squad for 2020.

Women: Elaine Coverdale (Essendon), Gail Hopkins (Essendon), Ruth Duffy (Corowa Civic), Helen Gammon (Ivanhoe Park), Chris Eiffert (Quarry Hill), Kaye Molyneux (Monash), Julie Beasley (Warragul), Joyce Woods (Brimbank), Jo Bury (Bendigo), Claire Keating (Williamstown).

Men: Kevin Beard (Yarrawonga), Terry Hopkins (Essendon), Owen Dickinson (Essendon), Brian Rowe (Essendon), Darren McLoughlin (Deniliquin), Richard Parks (Monash), John Grieve (Williamstown), Lester Hughes (Williamstown), Jack Williams (Belmont), Chas Quinn (Yarrawonga).