Croquet Victoria
Advancing Croquet in Victoria


Earlier news


Teachers have a ball at Ballarat Alexandra

At this year's Teachers Games, over 100 teachers opted to compete in Golf Croquet doubles games - twice as many as signed up last year.

Teams from all over the State participated, with players of all abilities from the novice to the more experienced.



Victorian Handicap Championships

The very first open event of the season at Cairnlea saw a strong entry in the top division. Lesser numbers in the bottom two sections – but nonetheless some interesting play.


Current news

News Date: 2017-10-09
Posted by: John Grieve
Posted on: 2017-10-27
News Type: Association

Top players compete in President's Eights

Croquet Victoria was host to the Association Croquet President’s Eights at Cairnlea over the weekend of 6 to 9 October.

This four-day event attracts the top players from around Australia. 


The event is played in four groups of eight players in each group.  The players are ranked according to their world ranking and placed into the four groups. 

Traditionally there have been three open eights and one women’s eight.  This year there were insufficient female entrants and the ACA decided to add men to round out the numbers. The format this year for all four eights was a double round robin. 

The First Eight included three members of the winning MacRobertson Shield team – Robert and Malcolm Fletcher (both from Lismore, Victoria) and Stephen Forster (Belmont). 

Robert Fletcher was outstanding in this eight.  He won all his 14 games, with 10 triple peels and one quad peel, and claimed the Eddie Hunt Trophy for the 9th consecutive year. He has never entered the event and not won it.  Runner-up was Stephen Forster with 9 wins from Malcolm Fletcher and Edward Wilson (Millswood, SA) with 8 wins each.

The Second Eight were battling for the Tom Howat Cup.  Peter Landrebe from NSW was the winner from Stephen Richards (Canberra).  There were some very long games in this block and a number of them were “put on the clock” to make sure everyone got home at a reasonable hour each night!  Peter lost two games only and both were to Trevor Bassett (NSW).  Those looking at the results in this Eight would notice not all games were completed – two players were forced to withdraw due to injury.

The Third Eight (the Major Tingay Tray) produced the most even result of all.  The winner Alan Honey (Canberra) won by one game from Kathleen Colclough (Headland-Buderim).  Going into the last round both players were on 8 wins.  Alan  won his game and then waited for the result of the game between Kathleen and Terry Hopkins (Essendon).  Kathleen had developed a handy lead when Terry hit-in in the last turn to take his ball to the peg and pip Kathleen by one hoop!!!  The result – Alan wins, Kathleen finished second with Tricia Devlin (Castlemaine), Chris Grant (Ringwood), Terry Hopkins and Ralph Allan (Stephens) all winning 7 games, Tim Murphy (Canberra) with 6 wins and Kenn Boal (Rich River) with 5 wins.  A great contest which went right to the very last shot.

The Fourth Eight was a close contest at the top.  Lindsay David (Graceville, Queensland) and Gail Hopkins (Essendon) both had 10 wins and 4 losses.  The regulations for this tournament dictates a play-off where players have equal wins.  Lindsay won the play-off and hence was the winner.  Gail was runner-up with Ron McBride (Hyde Park, SA) and Kerri-Ann Organ (Belmont) with 9 wins in equal third place. 

We welcomed four players to their first President’s 8s – Callum Hyland (Sandy Bay, Tasmania), Ron and Shirlene McBride (Hyde Park, SA) and Helena Panasewycz (Norwood, SA).  Each player commented on their delight about playing and all were very competitive.  We look forward to watching their development over the coming months.  For Helena it was her first major ACA event, and for Ron and Shirlene their welcome to the senior ranks in Association Croquet.  Callum has been around for a number of years but has not been available for this event in other seasons.

All results are on Croquetscores.

Our very sincere thanks to Mike Cohn (TR) and Brian Foley (ATR) who were on duty each of the four days.  The days were long with a start time of 8am and generally games not concluding till around 9pm.  Mike was very grateful for the support of Kate Patrick, Chas Quinn, Ian McKee, Eric O’Donnell and Graham Fahey. 

Special thanks to Trish Watts and Lorraine Gutcher who volunteered to help Lubi in the kitchen.  The players very much appreciated the range of food made available and the friendly service and assistance.  Many comments were made to me to pass onto the staff in the kitchen.

The event is scheduled to be at Cairnlea again in 2018, and I can advise croquet players around Victoria it is a special display of the talent of the top players. 

The next chance we got to see this talent on display is during the Australian Championships in the middle of November. 

John Grieve
Tournament Manager




Later news


Korumburra welcomes Seniors Week visitors

On Saturday 14th October, Korumburra Croquet Club held their Come and Try day as part of the Seniors Week celebrations.

Seven people showed an interest on the day.



New winner at Williamstown

The weekend of 14 and 15 October heralded the coming of Spring. The weather was warm, the wind gentle and the courts green and in good order.


State Goverment Victoria

Victorian Croquet Centre, 65 Nobel Banks Drive, Cairnlea, Vic 3023

03 8361 8887
Office hours: Mon-Thu: 9am-4pm, Fri: 9am-3pm, Sat-Sun: closed

     © 2007-2018 Victorian Croquet Association Inc: A0001530E ABN: 91 903 271 264
     Patron - The Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria

State Goverment Victoria Vic Sport Find us on Facebook