Croquet Victoria
Advancing Croquet in Victoria


About Croquet Victoria

We are the State Sporting Association responsible for croquet across Victoria and Southern New South Wales. Established on 18 June 1914 as the Victorian Croquet Association Inc., we trade as Croquet Victoria.

Under our current rules, we lead and develop croquet in Victoria by coordinating and supporting Association Croquet, Golf Croquet, Ricochet and Gateball, played in 88 clubs across 13 regional associations.

We are committed to ensuring that children who participate in our activities have a safe and happy experience.

Read more about the advantages of affiliation.

Croquet Victoria on YouTube

We have over 80 videos on our YouTube channel.


Find a Club Near You

Here is a map [] of all the clubs in Victoria.

To find and contact a club near you, use the Club Finder.

Malletsports Victoria

The magazine of Croquet Victoria.

Download the latest edition (March 2020), or browse the archive of older editions.

What's New?

17th WCF Association Croquet World Championships

The 2020 AC World Championships were hosted by the Victorian Croquet Association on behalf of the Australian Croquet Association.

See our Facebook post for more coverage, including photos and videos from the event.

2020 Association Croquet State Team

The Victorian AC State Team met at Cairnlea on January 11 to prepare for the defence of the Eire Cup in Brisbane in March.

Back Row: Kevin Beard, Stephen Forster (Captain), Claire Bassett, Lois Kirk, David Johnston, Chris Grant.

Front Row: Elaine Coverdale, Tricia Devlin (Vice Captain), Gail Hopkins, Simon Watkins.

Eire Cup Team image

2019 Golf Croquet State Team

Women: Judy Wembridge (Captain), Tricia Devlin, Wendy Dickson, Gail Hopkins.

Men: Kevin Beard (Vice Captain), John Grieve, Darren McLoughlin, John van der Touw.

Reserve: Chris Eiffert.

State GC Team image




No play in Melbourne, regional Victoria back to Stage 3 restrictions

The Premier announced today (2 August) that Victoria is moving to restrict movement across the State.

In the Melbourne metropolitan area (including the Mornington Peninsula), community sporting facilities are to close from 6 pm on Sunday 2 August.

Regional Victoria is to move to stage 3 restrictions from 11.59 pm on Wednesday 5 August. For croquet, where players can be socially distanced, this means:

  • social singles play only
  • no shared equipment
  • a maximum of 10 players
  • access to clubhouses for toilets only.

Clubs in regional Victoria should check their arrangements for play with their local government authority.

For detail, check our updated guidelines. Queries to the Secretary, Sarina Cevaal-Hewitt,




Good news: croquet at Mallacoota

Lindsay Crawford writes:

This is a good news story.

It came about because my wife Julee and I had her twin sister Wendy and husband Peter Robinson stay with us for a couple of weeks. They couldn't go back to their home in Mallacoota because all roads were closed due to the bushfires.

While they were with us, we took them to Ringwood Croquet Club (we are members there) and showed them how to play golf croquet.

They enjoyed it so much that Peter decided to set up a lawn at Mallacoota.




Face masks required for greater Melbourne

The Premier of Victoria has announced that

People living in metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire will now be required to wear a face covering when leaving home for one of the four reasons, following a concerning increase in coronavirus cases in recent days.

This requirement starts from 11.59 pm on Wednesday 22 July, to allow people to obtain face masks.

There are some exemptions which are detailed in the Premier’s statement:

People in other parts of Victoria are not required to wear facemasks at this stage, but they are advised to wear facemasks when they are out and they expect it may be difficult to maintain the social distance of 1.5m from others.  




Survival grants for clubs

The State Government recently announced details of over 3800 grassroots sporting clubs who have been awarded $1000 short-term survival packages.

Grants went predominantly to the sports with a large community following:  Australian Rules football, cricket, tennis, soccer, netball and basketball.

Congratulations to the 45 croquet clubs who were among those who were successful.


To submit a news item, email  news @ croquetvic . asn . au

Add a news item